Boldly redefined by the runaway best-selling Born Again record, its three No. 1 radio hits, and a headlining slot on the world’s biggest tour in first quarter 2011 (playing to more than half a million people), Newsboys continue their powerful journey on November 15th with God’s Not Dead (Inpop Records). This rock-driven modern worship project was produced by Born Again’s co-producer Seth Mosley.

God’s Not Dead finds front man Michael Tait and his band mates Jeff Frankenstein (keys), Duncan Phillips (drums), and Jody Davis (guitars) enlivening today’s most embraced modern worship anthems. Putting their signature touch on seven tunes that have recently topped the Church Copyright Licensing International (CCLI) chart, including “God’s Not Dead (Like A Lion)”,  “Forever Reign” and “Revelation Song,” five originals round out the project such as “The King is Coming,” “Here We Stand,” and “All The Way.”

When Tait joined in 2009, the group wanted fans to know that their worship emphasis would never change. In fact, plans for God’s Not Dead began before Born Again was released. “There are so many things I love about being a Newsboy—we really are a band of brothers—but the biggest one is that our music always shares the gospel outright,” says Tait. “The message is unchanging whether you look at a song as rock or worship.”

“This new record has come together like no other Newsboys record in the past,” says Andrew Patton, General Manager of Inpop Records. “They chose outstanding songs that not only showcase the band in a familiar and fresh way, but also are simply core worship songs and messages that the worldwide church can embrace today. This album is the perfect extension of the growth experienced from Born Again.”

Their mission is surely accomplished on “God’s Not Dead (Like A Lion),” which reunites Tait with Kevin Max, both formerly part of the multi-platinum trio dc Talk. Written by Daniel Bashta, it sings: come shake the ground with the sounds of revival. And hearing two friends sing together again after many years apart does bring an air of renewal. The match up with Max went so well that Newsboys invited him back into the studio to sing on “I Am Second” the edgiest cut on God’s Not Dead that shouts: I am second to One / Redeemer, The Way, The Light / I am Second to One / And He is Second to None. The piece was inspired by the band’s tie to I Am Second, a ministry that reaches out to struggling people and encourages them to live first for God.

At the album’s core, God’s Not Dead sings of victory over a century’s worth of philosophers who thought otherwise. Friedrich Nietzsche once proclaimed, “God is dead.” But as Newsboys’ friend and pastor Rice Broocks likes to say, “A funny thing happened on the way to the funeral.” The belief that God is indeed alive is the truth Newsboys are amplifying. “God’s not dead, let’s worship Him,” says Michael Tait. “We serve a living God!”
Tait’s outspoken message is carried by Newsboys’ signature sound that Frankenstein, Phillips, and Davis have shaped together for nearly two decades now. The band will hit the stage this fall headlining the west coast leg of the Winter Jam tour, as well as joining The Story tour, which runs through December 18th. At the start of 2012, Newsboys will embark on their “God’s Not Dead Tour.” Tour markets and dates will be forthcoming.

God’s Not Dead track listing:
1. The King is Coming
2. God’s Not Dead (Like A Lion)
3. Your Love Never Fails
4. Here We Stand
5. Savior of the World
6. Forever Reign
7. More Than Enough
8. Revelation Song
9. Pouring It Out
10. Mighty To Save
11. All The Way
12. I Am Second



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


greens powder