/Christian Newswire/ — FreQ Media is proud to announce the winners in the inaugural My Christian Hits Awards, naming 39 different category winners that were picked solely by music fans over the past three weeks. Over 14,000 votes were cast over three weeks of open voting. The winners show how diverse Christian music is and the high level of artistry included in this year’s honoree list.

The major category winners include: Male Artist of the Year: Danny Gokey, Female Artist of the Year: Mandisa, Breakout Artist of the Year: NeedToBreathe, New Artist of the Year: Shuree, New Indie Artist of the Year: Spencer Kane, and Music Video of the Year: Brandon Heath’s “Love Does.” The biggest winner of the year was NeedToBreathe which won an impressive five different category awards. Checkout the complete list of winners

New Artist Of The Year
Runner Up: Lauren Daigle

New Indie Artist Of The Year
Spencer Kane
Runner Up: Christon Gray And Amanda Noelle [Tie]

Music Video Of The Year
Brandon Heath “Love Does”
Runner Up: Lecrae “All I Need Is You”

Breakout Artist Of The Year
Runner Up: Lecrae

Female Artist Of The Year
Runner Up: Jamie Grace

Male Artist Of The Year
Danny Gokey
Runner Up: Tobymac

Mainstream Impact Award
Runner Up: Skillet

Organic Song Of The Year [Acoustic/Folk]
Runner Up: Jason Gray “Not Right Now”

Organic Project Of The Year [Acoustic/Folk]
NEEDTOBREATHE “Rivers In The Wasteland”
Runner Up: Laura Story “God Of Every Story”

Organic Artist Of The Year [Acoustic/Folk]
Runner Up: Rend Collective

Glow Song Of The Year [Electronic/Pop]
Capital Kings “Fireblazin'”
Runner Up: Family Force 5 Feat Lz7 “Next Level”

Glow Project Of The Year [Electronic/Pop]
Thousand Foot Krutch “Metamorphosiz: The End Vol. 2”
Runner Up: Family Force 5 “Time Stands Still”

Glow Artist Of The Year [Electronic/Pop]
Family Force 5
Runner Up: Capital Kings

Boom Song Of The Year [Hip-Hop/R&B]
Lecrae “Nuthin'”
Runner Up: Andy Mineo “Neverland”

Boom Project Of The Year [Hip-Hop/R&B]
Lecrae “Anomaly”
Runner Up: Andy Mineo “Neverland”

Boom Artist Of The Year [Hip-Hop/R&B]
Runner Up: Andy Mineo

Sphere Song Of The Year [Indie Hip-Hop]
Sundance Feat Propaganda, Wonder Brown, Cas Metah, Elias, Kj-52, J Givens, And Khadia Che “Rain”
Runner Up: Jackie Hill Perry Feat Eshon Burgundy “The Solution”

Sphere Project Of The Year [Indie Hip-Hop]
Sivion “Group Therapy”
Runner Up: Scribbling Idiots “Invitation Only”

Sphere Artist Of The Year [Indie Hip-Hop]
Runner Up: Propaganda

Vertical Song Of The Year [Worship]
for King & Country “Fix My Eyes”
Runner Up: Hillsong United “Oceans” & Lauren Daigle “How Can It Be”

Vertical Project Of The Year [Worship]
Kari Jobe “Majestic”
Runner Up: Rend Collective “The Art Of Celebration”

Vertical Artist Of The Year [Worship]
Hillsong United
Runner Up: Chris Tomlin

Hardwire Song Of The Year [Metal/Hardcore]
Fit For A King “A Greater Sense Of Self”
Runner Up: Project 86 “Pale Rider”

Hardwire Project Of The Year [Metal/Hardcore]
For Today “Fight The Silence”
Runner Up: Wolves At The Gate “Vxv”

Hardwire Artist Of The Year [Metal/Hardcore]
Fit For A King
Runner Up: August Burns Red

Heartland Song Of The Year [Country]
Carrie Underwood “Something In The Water”
Runner Up: Lady Antebellum “Compass”

Heartland Project Of The Year [Country]
Mac Powell “Southpaw”
Runner Up: Rascall Flatts “Rewind”

Heartland Artist Of The Year [Country]
Mac Powell
Runner Up: Carrie Underwood

iShine Song Of The Year [Teen Pop]
Abigail Duhon “Lalala”
Runner Up: Spencer Kane “Speak Love”

iShine Project Of The Year [Teen Pop]
Spencer Kane “Runway”
Runner Up: Mandisa “Overcomer”

iShine Artist Of The Year [Teen Pop]
Jamie Grace
Runner Up: Anthem Lights

Christmas Song Of The Year
Family Force 5 “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”
Runner Up: Laura Daigle “Light Of The World”

Christmas Project Of The Year
Sidewalk Prophets “Merry Christmas To You”
Runner Up: Pentatonix “That’s Christmas To Me”

Rock Song Of The Year
Skillet “Rise”
Runner Up: Disciple “Radical”

Rock Project Of The Year
Skillet “Rise”
Runner Up: Disciple “Attack”

Rock Artist Of The Year
Runner Up: Red

Pop Song Of The Year
Colton Dixon “More Of You”
Runner Up: Royal Tailor Feat Tobymac “Jesus Love”

Pop Project Of The Year
Manic Drive “V.I.P.”
Runner Up: Tobymac “Eye On It”

Pop Artist Of The Year
Capital Kings
Runner Up: Tobymac


Fans voted across many musical genres, including rock, pop, hip-hop, folk, metal/hardcore, underground hip-hop, tween pop, electronic/EDM, worship, country, and Christmas. The category groupings are based primarily off of MyChristianHits.com’s current and future music channel names. Fans who voted are also eligible for five separate prize packages, which will be awarded over the next week.

“With the debut of the My Christian Hits Awards, and the huge response we received from the voting public, we believe we’re moving in the right direction in the diversity of our network music programming,” shares FreQ Media General Manager and former Radio & Records/Billboard Christian music editor Rick Welke. “We will continue to champion the art that we are honored to play, and the artists that desire to connect with music fans in a real way through our multiple websites and music offerings. I would like to thank the 14,000 plus that voted in this first year of the My Christian Hits Awards. You coming out and voting the way you did was nothing short of amazing.”

All FreQ Media channels and websites are family friendly. The organization will also partner with select Christian festivals around the USA to offer up seasonal festival-specific audio programming for their attendees in the coming months as it did in 2014. All of FreQ Media’s music channels can be heard on various outlets, includingFreQazoid.comMyChristianHits.com, and TuneIn.com. Listeners can also catch all of FreQ Media’s stations through the TuneIn smartphone app, and on TV sets across America through Roku and Google Chromecast via TuneIn’s music app.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


greens powder